Skip to content

Wale Drops 2 New Videos: Pretty Girls & My Sweetie

February 9, 2010

Wale threw a house party filled with his Naija peeps for the video treatment for his latest single, “My Sweetie” which is taken off his “Attention: Deficit” album. He gave a shout-out to Igbo’s and folks with a long name. The video (as premiered on VIMEO) was directed by Tabi Bonney. Is that his Mama in the video??? Anyone can confirm that for me? I laughed at the line – If you have 13 letters or more in your name this song is for you.

I love that the girls and fellas in the video were repping where they are from. (Pay attention for those Ankara print and flags!) I see you Wale spraying that Naira/dollar, lol!

Wale MY sweetie video stills

Not to be outdone onn BET’s 106 & Park recently, Wale also premiered his new video for the the go-go infused track, “Pretty Girls” featuring Gucci Mane. The video was directed by Chris Robinson (the man behind Usher’s Hey Daddy video) and it, duh, features Wale’s version of Pretty Girls. (Where’s Solange??? Did she not read that Honey magazine interview where Wale just admitted his love for her???) I see you Tristan Wilds! Check it out…

Wale recently explained the vibe and concept of Pretty Girls to MTV News last month. He wanted to put his hometown D.C. on the hip-hop map and that’s why he used that go-go beat for the song.

“Initially for the record, we wanted to show [Washington] D.C.’s music from a sonic standpoint, as well as have some fun,” Wale told MTV News. “This was supposed to be my first single; it’s actually my second single now. ‘Chillin’ ‘ was a global sound, now I wanna give you my regional sound. It’s about having fun.”

He went on to explain how the song is a nod to the go-go sound that was prevalent in his hometown while he was growing up, perhaps most popularly exemplified by E.U.’s 1988 hit, “Da Butt.”

“I brought Gucci on the record because when I was growing up, Master P, Juvenile and a lot of these other Southern artists used to play with the go-go bands. It’s almost trying to pay homage to that era, when I came up. Now you can even see Jim Jones or Shawty Lo perform with some of the go-go bands where I’m from. This is my attempt to kinda show you that. I think we did a pretty good job of executing it — we gonna have some fun with pretty women!” [MTV NEWS]

Here’s some behind the scenes footage of his Pretty Girls video shoot.

Thanks to all the FG2BH readers for sending these video links over!

Leave a Reply

