Skip to content

Jay-Z Speaks Up On We Are The World 2010 Remake

February 22, 2010

In a recent interview with MTV News, Jay-Z explained why he didn’t participate in the Quincy Jones/Lionel Richie remake of We Are The World 25 For Haiti charity song. (Quick random fact: Did you know that Jay-Z has a street named after him in Nigeria?)

JAyz MJ

And I quote Mr. Carter on the We Are The World Remake…

“I know everybody is gonna take this wrong. We Are the World, I love it, and I understand the point and think it’s great. But I think We Are the World is like [Michael Jackson’s] Thriller to me. I don’t ever wanna see it touched. I’m a fan of music. I know the plight and everything that’s going on in Haiti. … So I appreciate the efforts and everything, but We Are the World is [musically] untouchable like Thriller is untouchable.  It was a valiant effort, but for me, it’s gonna be untouchable.”

Nicely put, Jay-Z!

The song meant well but for the life of me why didn’t Musiq Soulchild, Brandy, Tyrese, India.Arie, Melanie Fiona, and Robin Thicke get a moment or two to sing a line.

Janet Jackson, Jennifer Hudson, P!nk, Usher, Celine Dion and Barbra simply made the song and all the rest was simply WTF moments. I’m looking at T-Pain and Lil’ Wayne’s autotone singing, Jamie Foxx as Ray Charles and LL Cool J’s long freestyle.

Soulbounce and Clutch share my opinions as well. 57 YouTube users did their own special remake of We Are the World. Check it out…

Love it!

Leave a Reply

