Skip to content

FG2BH Presents “My Fashion Crush”: NAANA B

February 28, 2010

Fall deeply in love (as FG2BH currently has become) with Naana B – the funky yet chic African-inspired clothing & handbag collection of young Ghanaian female fashion designer Naana Brocks. This Ankara-influenced vibrant collection has a gown and exotic clutch for your next night out on the town. From strapless to floor-length to trench jackets to fitted jackets, Naana B has that irresistable glamorous look for you that is guarantee to get that question – “Where did you get that from?”

Naana B

Teen Vogue, a leading fashion publication, concurs with my opinions as well because they featured her Moonspire mini ruffle dress in their March 2010 edition!  (What a great way to kick off the Spring 2010 season!) Her work has since appeared in Essence and Honey magazines.

Naana B Teen Vogue Moment
Naana B’s Teen Vogue March 2010 Moment!

Naana Brocks in her own words via her Honey Magazine April 2007 interview…

I became interested in fashion while pursuing my bachelors in Visual Arts at Columbia University. My
concentration was steel sculpture. I would spend hours in my art studio creating my pieces using a
combination of fabric and steel. Working so closely with fabrics I started creating clothes of my own. I
created my first collection while in college. I graduated from college and started taking various design
classes at F.I.T. and Parsons and loved it.

Her collection’s price range goes between as low to $150 to $300! My favorite pick goes to Copper Duchess Ruffle Gown!  As I expressed to my FG2BH readers,  African-inspired clothes are here to stay in 2010!

>>Naana B Links: Naana B Official//Twitter//Shop<<

photo credits: Naana B//Cindy Hwang

Leave a Reply

