Skip to content

BET’s Rising Icons Featuring Laura Izibor, Wale, and Estelle

July 31, 2010

BET recently held a big NYC-based celebration for the upcoming second season launch of their music show Rising Icons with John Legend’s protege Estelle and the “From My Heart To Yours” singer Laura Izibor. (Both ladies got their A-game to the red carpet event. I especially love Estelle’s shoes.) Rising Icons showcase and highlights the careers of the music industry’s urban emerging artistsVIBE magazine posted up behind-the-scenes photos which features Washington, DC native/Yoruba Nigerian rapper Wale who had Twitter blazing with his leaked single, Ambitious Girl.

bet rising icons wale estelle and laura izibor

The second season of BET’s RISING ICONS also includes B.o.B, ELEW, J. Cole, Jay Sean, Jeremih, and Melanie Fiona. Speaking of which you can check out this sneak preview of Laura’s BET RISING ICONS episode here! Next music gig for Estelle is a co-headlining performance with Lauryn Hill for the Oceana Festival in Portgual, Italy!


Grey Goose Entertainment proudly presents the second season of the acclaimed RISING ICONS, a television series recognizing Laura Izibor, and seven other of the most influential artists currently taking the music scene by storm. Premiering this August on BET and Centric Networks, each episode takes viewers behind the scenes chronicling the artists’ lives both on and off the stage, at home and on the road, giving an inside glimpse into their roads to stardom.
SOURCE

rising icons laura izibor
>>>LAURA IZIBOR ONLINE::: FACEBOOK /// TWITTER // OFFICIAL<<<

rising icons estelle

>>>ESTELLE ONLINE::: FACEBOOK /// TWITTER // OFFICIAL<<<

And now we can discuss the latest trending topic on Twitter (#AmbitiousGirl) thanks to Wale. My favorite line from the track – “I wanna see something else in you before I invest in you” which got me thinking why can’t rappers make more songs like this??? Actually the song is a spoken confessional done over a tight beat. The Osinachi-produced track will appear on Wale’s upcoming mixtape, More Than Nothing, which hits stores on August 3rd.

Ambitious girl, the drive-drive me crazy
I’m tryna stay with you, lay with you
I’ll pay you tuition, pray with you if you aint into wishin,
I’m tryna fxck the shxt out your aspirations
see, the last one I dated, I hated
we wake up, i go to work, she leave out
come back with some make up, high heels, and a purse, or
worse i ask, “Babygirl, what you aspire to be?”
she reply to me like, “why you perspiring me?” bxtch..
pardon me if I’m sweating you but,
I wanna see something else in you before I invest in you
ambitious girl, (what you sitting for)
I’d rather you tell me to hit you later,
because you gotta finish a paper
then to be in my face asking for a rosea cup
see these bxtches can’t cut in yo business
I’m in love with your business
and your productivity is the reason I intrest, ambitious girl
see, I like the person that you are,
but I’m in love with the person that you have potential to be
and all your dreams sharing with me
and your secrets baring with me
and the flaws, you aint even got to mention to me,
ambitious girl, you just wanna win, and you’d rather chase your dreams,
then to try to chase these men
that try to chase these skirts
that try to chase these shots with flavors that not even as sweet as her
my ambitious girl, I wont forget you,
I just reflect on how I aint met you, yet boo
you somewhere, getting your life in order
so for the time being, i hope this (overscribe) might support her
support her, or work her, she worth it
go girl X3, ambition
go girl X7, ambition
go girl X7, ambition
ambition X7
just wanna add something to listen to,
maybe in the morning.

Wale – Ambitious Girl

Visit GOOD2BHOME for additional photos taken from the BET Rising Icons 2010 event!

photo credits:: WIREIMAGE /// GETTY

Leave a Reply

