Skip to content

Get To Know: Jessique Designs – A Fashion Label by Ghana’s Janet Opoku

March 23, 2011

Janet Opoku of the fantastic African fashion label Jessique Designs recently reach out to FG2BH to promote their latest Spring/Summer 2011 collection for the lover of all things ankara. Janet just started her online boutique selling African print garments in contemporary styles. The line was created by Janet, a fab fashion designer from Ghana, who is based in the UK. FG2BH chatted with Janet about her line, her inspiration and who she sees wearing Jessique Designs.

Janet Okopu of Jessique Designs Chats With FG2BH…

How did you come up with the name of your line – Jessique Designs?
The line is actually named after my daughter, a remarkable young lady. I’m very proud of her.

What country are you from?
I’m from Ghana, but I’m currently resident in the UK.

Who’s your source of inspiration for your line?
My inspiration stems from my passion, and flair for fashion, and my love for African prints. I really appreciate art and creativity. Also I have a deep admiration for western elegance of the 1950s and 1960s which of course has influenced Jessique designs.

With the spotlight on all things African fashion, where do you see your line in the future?
Certainly, the interest in African print designs has become increasingly popular, within the last couple of years we’ve seen the use of African print fabric in the international fashion community increased vastly. I’m hopeful that this current trend will maintain trajectory. We’re aiming for mainstream fashion, this is why we have made our products accessible, and affordable to the fashion buying public.

Who do you want to see wear your line? Celebrity? Icon? Everyday girl?
I’ll love to have a celebrity wear Jessique designs, but we design with everyday girl in mind. Jessique designs for the modern day working woman with a defined sense of personal style.

Please discuss the name of each dress in Jessique Designs.

Felicia – My very good friend who is very glamorous with a heart of gold.

Candice – My daughter’s best friend and the most joyful young lady I know!

Sara – My 11-year-old niece who’s assertive and also creative, and cute too!

Kenley – A lady I used to work with you. She’s so gracious and full of love and appreciation

The rest of the styles were named after the colour of the fabric or the pattern which for example are the blue wrap dress, the kente wrap dress, Olive and Robin.

Remember where you learn first about Jessique Designs! Special thanks to the entire Jessique Team and Janet!

photo credits: Jessique Designs

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuhay Jalloh permalink
    March 25, 2011 10:10 pm

    I was browsing through you clothing collection and i must say i fell in love with it.My name is Tuhay Jalloh, and i attend Penn State University. As an upcoming sophomore , I will be president of African Student Association(A.S.A.) which is organization that promotes diversity and the culture of Africa. Every spring we have an annual fashion show and next year i was wondering if you would allow us to model your clothing to our community. With your collection , we can show our community the beauty of African fashion.
    I will greatly appreciate it if you would allow us to work together.
    Thank You
    Tuhay Jalloh
    (732)425-3538

  2. Becky Mensah permalink
    March 28, 2011 10:25 am

    The clothing collection from Jessique Designs are really fabulous and affordable too, I checked out their website, very impressive.

  3. Vanessa Rogers permalink
    March 29, 2011 1:19 pm

    I like these dresses – stylish.

Leave a Reply

