Skip to content

First Lady Michelle Obama Addresses (Again) Her Style Critics to Today’s Matt Lauer in $34.95 H&M Dress

February 9, 2011

In a interview with Today’s Matt Lauer, First Lady Michelle Obama responded back (once again) to the endless criticism of her fashion style. Interestingly so, for her interview Michelle worea blue and white polka H&M dress with a red wide belt cinched at her waist and yellow pointy-toe pumps. It’s quite safe to say that the First Lady is over the North Eastern snowy, cold, rainy weather. I also found the outfit to be bold statement to her critics that she wears what she wants to wear not what you think she should wear.



Alternate link

Michelle Obama to Matt Lauer on her style: I take it as a compliment but it’s not something that I focus on. Everyone has to get dress in the morning and put on something. I hope someone finds it nice but it’s not something that I focus on.

Update: The polka dot dress Michelle wore for her Today show interview was by H&M and it cost $34.95. The First Lady added sleeves to the dress and it’s sold out everywhere! The dress is from H&M Eco-Smart collection.

The day before her Today Show interview Michelle further explained her style as what makes her look and feel good regardless of the label. Her comments comes off the media obsession over recent sightings of her wearing Non-American designer look to high-profile events (ie. Alexander McQueen) in spite of promoting the “Wear American” campaign.

I like to patronize American designers, and the vast majority of the clothes that I wear are [designed by Americans.] But there are a lot of other designers that have cute stuff, too. I don’t think that I’m any different from any other woman, other than the fact that people see what I wear and then they talk about it. It’s really just sort of, how cold is it? Do I have to stand outside, and what am I going to use to cover my arms if I’m freezing so I’m not shivering while I have to give a speech? It’s really stuff like that. And I know people are sort of thinking that it’s different, but it’s real practical stuff like that. I don’t buy a designer, I buy a dress. I buy the thing that looks good. And then it’s like, oh, who is this? I hope that women learn to wear what they love because that — I think that’s one of the hardest things as women — is that you’re always trying to catch up to somebody else’s vision of who you should be. And that’s hard. It’s hard on us. quote via THE CUT

Quite interesting, isn’t it?

getty. wireimage. zimbio.

No comments yet

Leave a comment